Hubzone Businesses:

If your business qualifies, you will often have an advantage in obtaining government contracts. The HUBZone Empowerment Contracting Program helps to stimulate economic development by providing Federal contracting preferences to small businesses that have obtained HUBZone certification.

GSA Small Business GWAC Center has announced its latest contract product designed to promote small business utilization when purchasing technology solutions for the federal government. Contract awards were made to 36 technology firms who are certified by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) as Historically Underutilized Business Zone (HUBZone) firms. These firms represent seven Functional Areas (FA).

The seven functional areas, designated by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) are listed below:

  • FA1 NAICS 514191 On-Line Information Services
  • FA2 NAICS 514199 All Other Information Services
  • FA3 NAICS 514210 Data Processing Services
  • FA4 NAICS 541511 Custom Computer Programming Services
  • FA5 NAICS 541512 Computer Systems Design Services
  • FA6 NAICS 541513 Computer Facilities Management Services
  • FA7 NAICS 541519 Other Computer Related Services


  • Federal agencies will be able to fulfill their IT requirements through the utilization of small businesses that are located in a HUBZone.
  • Federal agencies have a statutory goal of 3% of procurement dollars to HUBZone-certified firms each fiscal year effective fiscal year 2003.
  • A variety of technology solutions are offered in 7 specific functional areas.
  • HUBZone credit can be transferred back to client agency via Federal Procurement Data System (FPDS).
  • Online ordering is available via IT-Solutions Shop at
  • As an alternative, agency contracting officers who wish to conduct their own procurements may access these contracts by requesting a delegation of authority from a GSA HUBZone GWAC Procuring Contracting Officer.